O’Brien County Community Foundation Awards Grants

The O’Brien County Community Foundation (OBCCF), an affiliate of the Siouxland Community Foundation, awarded 23 grants on June 14th, 2018 at the O’Brien County Courthouse totaling over $101,000 to nonprofit organizations and units of local government in support of projects throughout O’Brien County.  Since the first grants were made in 2006, 320 grants totaling over $1.13 million have been awarded.

“Every year the Community Foundation is excited to award grants that will impact O’Brien County,” says Wendy Ewoldt, Advisory Chair. “These grants improve our communities in so many ways and simply make O’Brien County a better place for all ages.”

The following grants were awarded by the O’Brien County Community Foundation:

Baum Harmon Mercy Hospital Automatic Door Opener, Main Entrance $2,000
City of Archer Archer Park Pollinators Project. $3,000
City of Calumet Community Building Brightens Our Future $7,000
City of Hartley Fanning Ball Field Renovation Project $5,000
City of Hartley Hartley Cemetery Stone Restoration Project $3,000
General N.B. Baker Library Area History – Phase Six $1,055
Glacial Trail Scenic Byway Waterman Prairie Interpretation $2,500
Granville Fire and EMS Association Breathing Air Cascade System $5,000
Hartley Community Center Association ADA compliant door openers $2,500
Hartley Community Daycare Enhanced Building Security $5,000
Hartley Volunteer Fire Department Replacement of Personal Protective Equipment $7,500
Little Sioux Valley Conservation Association Educational Display Preservation Equipment $8,000
NW Iowa Mental Health Center dba Seasons Center for Behavioral Health Camp Autumn — Playground Set $7,000
O’Brien County Conservation Board Mill Creek Recreational Trail Markers $2,227
Paullina Fire Department Emergency Scene Lighting $7,900
PGCC Junior Golf New Golf Clubs $400
Prairie Arts Council Baker School Renovation $8,250
Primghar Ambulance Team Ambulance Radio Upgrade $4,000
Sanborn Community/Donation Gardens Community/Donation Garden Shed $2,100
Sutherland Little League Concession Stand Update $2,000
Sutherland Police Department Technology and Equipment Update $8,500
Village Northwest Unlimited Autism Community Transition Program $5,000
Zion/St. John School Security and safety $2,500


The OBCCF was formally established in 2005 through affiliation with the Siouxland Community Foundation and is governed by a local advisory board composed of representatives from each of the communities in O’Brien County:  Archer, Calumet, Hartley, Paullina, Primghar, Sanborn, Sheldon, and Sutherland; as well as one county-at-large member.

The mission of the O’Brien County Community Foundation is to enhance the quality of life in the communities served by encouraging permanent charitable giving to meet the needs of present and future generations.

Comments are closed.